California Continuing Education Requirements
Our appraiser courses are coming soon, subscribe to get notified when they arrive!
Updated 16 Mar, 2022
All licensed appraisers must meet continuing education requirements before they may renew their license. The current effective and expiration date term of a California real estate appraiser license is two years. However, the Continuing Education (CE) Cycle is a four year term. The cycle starts with the effective date of the initial and upgraded license, every four years.
Minimum Continuing Education Requirements
Applicants for license renewal must complete a total of 56 hours of continuing education during the four- year continuing education cycle. The cycle starts at the effective date of the current license plus four years. License renewals are required every two years and Licensees must provide proof of completion of the following mandatory courses for all licenses:
- USPAP — Licensees must complete the 7-hour National USPAP Update Course (or its equivalent as determined by the AQB) every two years. An AQB Certified USPAP Instructor who is a Certified Residential or Certified General appraiser in good standing must teach the course.
- Laws and Regulations — Licensees must complete a Bureau approved course of at least four hours covering Federal and State Laws and Regulations once every four years.
Although licensees should complete an average of 14 hours for each calendar year, they are not required to complete continuing education in each specific year.
Other than the mandatory 7-hour National USPAP Update Course (or its equivalent as determined by the AQB), duplicate education will not be accepted if completed within the same CE Cycle.
- Total Hours Required: 56
- Mandatory Hours: 18
- Elective Hours: 38
- Renewal Cycle in Years: 4
- Education Cycle in Months: 48